Jah Itagaki's REGGAE LIFE
Front Page > English | Japanese

Review >INDEX

Lee Ritenour
i.e. Music / Polygram POCP-7287

Track Listing

  1. This Is Love
  2. Mr. Papa
  3. Can You Feel It?
  4. Dream Away
  5. Alfie's Theme
  6. And You Know What... I Love You
  7. Baltimore
  8. Ooh-Yeah
  9. Street Runner
  10. Dreamwalk
  11. Pavane
  12. The Blue Line (bonus on Japanese Edition)

As there is no need to say, this is not reggae but fusion. One interesting thing about this album, "This Is Love" contains some samples from "Is This Love" by Bob Marley which is included in an album "KAYA". The striking refrain of "Is This Love" is used as main theme for this track and Lee Ritenour's excellent guitar performance covers that. It makes me feeling so good.

"Baltimore", famous work by Randy Newman, noted with Tamlins' version for reggae music fans, also has a little bit flavor of reggae (just a little bit). I think this is good work too.

By Jah Itagaki / June 16, 1998